Drug Detox and Residential Treatment Programs

Learn everything there is to know about inpatient addiction treatment centers, what patients should expect upon entering into a residential treatment program, and the level of care an individual will receive.

What is a residential treatment center?

A residential treatment center offers professional substance abuse treatment services, medically supervised detox and withdrawal processes, and counseling services to individuals with substance use disorder in a residential live-in setting.

Why enter into a drug detox center?

When an individual becomes physically dependent or addicted to a substance, the safest way to detox from drug and alcohol abuse is to check into an inpatient treatment facility.

Intake and amissions process

Once an individual has checked into treatment, the intake and admissions process will pursue. This process allows the recovery team and medical staff to build a customized recovery plan for the individual based on their history and usage of drugs and alcohol.

Detoxification and withdrawal
After the intake and admissions process is complete, the detox and withdrawal journey will begin. Detox can last anywhere from a few days up to several weeks, depending on the frequency and amount of drug and alcohol consumption. A licensed staff member will administer medication per the client's physician to help ease any withdrawal symptoms.

The step-down process
The Step-Down Process of addiction treatment looks like a pyramid flipped upside down. As a person completes milestones in their treatment plan, the amount of therapy and counseling required for a successful recovery becomes less intensive. According to the American Society of Addiction Medicine ( ASAM ), the continuum of care in addiction treatment is as follows.

Level 0.5: Early intervention services
Level I: Outpatient services
Level II: Intensive outpatient/Partial hospitalization services (Level II is subdivided into levels II.1 and II.5)
Level III: Residential/Inpatient services (Level III is subdivided into levels III.1, III.3, III.5, and III.7)
Level IV: Medically managed intensive inpatient services

“Continuum of care” refers to a treatment system in which clients enter treatment at a level appropriate to their needs and then step up or down to more or less addiction treatment as needed.

Related Links
National Institute on Drug Abuse ( NIDA )National Institute of Mental Health ( NIMH )Evidence Based Practices ( EBP ) Resource Center